Level 3 BTEC Diploma in Adult Care (England)

Level 3 BTEC Diploma in Adult Care (England)

What’s Involved

The Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care enables you to develop specialist knowledge for use in the Health and Social Care Sector. The course provides a practical work-based qualification for staff already employed in a caring role. You will work towards achieving core and optional units. All of these add to the required content for the award. Your selection of units will depend on a discussion between you and an assessor about the duties within your work role.

Due to the nature of the qualification studying is more focused on your knowledge and skills. Tutors and Assessors will provide information on the unit subject and candidates will then provide evidence of their knowledge (via training certificates, reflective statements etc.).

Entry Requirements

The Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care is a vocational course and therefore you need to be in either full-time or part-time employment. If you work part-time then a minimum of 12 hours per week is required. You will also need to provide a Disclosure and Barring Service Check (formerly Criminal Records Bureau Check) and proof of employment.

Where will it take me?

You may be able to seek employment in the sector as a supervisor or senior in care homes. You may apply for posts such as a senior care assistant or a health care assistant.

The Level 3 Diploma hold UCAS Points should you wish to progress to University 

You may wish to apply for the Level 4 Diploma in Adult Care if you are in an appropriate role.

You may wish to apply for the Level 5 Leadership for Health and Social Care and Children’s and Young People’s settings if you are in an appropriate role. 

Course Assessment Method

Your assessor will visit you in the workplace and observe you working with clients. Your work will then be checked against a set of occupational standards. You will also have to provide evidence of learning and complete worksheets given to you by your assessor.

The qualification is made up of mandatory and optional units. You need to complete 9 core units and choose from a selection of optional units. The number of option units selected will vary from person to person as each unit has a specific number of credits and you will need a total of 58 credits to obtain the qualification across both mandatory and optional units. The mandatory units are:

  • Communication;
  • Personal professional development;
  • Equality and inclusion;
  • Duty of care;
  • Safeguarding;
  • The role of the Health and Social Care worker;
  • Person-centred approach;  
  • Health and Safety;
  • Handling information

Contact us about this course

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.